S53: Northland FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year & AgriKids winners announced

Written by
NZ Young Farmers

A trio from Kamo Intermediate school won the Northland AgriKidsNZ Competition. 

Brodie Mahon, Bear Hidrup and Kyle Owen made up the winning team. 

“Just being involved and coming down here to compete was really cool. We got to extend our knowledge on lots of things like fuel spillage,” said Blake. 

The team said they worked great together and were ‘stoked’ to have done so well. 

“We’ve all grown up on farms, so doing this sort of thing is really fun for us,” said Brodie. 

Second place was awarded to Lottie Collis, Mary Innes and George Innes. 

Guy Simpson, Bradley Browne and Blake Smeath took out third place. 

Agrikids Competitor of the Day was awarded to Lottie Collis. 

The top three teams have all been invited to the Grand Final in Christchurch in July where they will compete against 21 other teams from across the country. 


Written by
NZ Young Farmers

Share this article

Join your local NZ Young Farmers club

  • Meet other young farmers in your local community
  • You don't have to be a farmer, everyone is welcome!

Related articles

Keep reading other articles from the same authors and about the same topics.