Regional Final Registrations Open!

Register For Regional Finals

Register Now
FMG Young Farmer of the Year

Waikato Bay of Plenty: Regional Final

Hauraki Plains
5-6 April 2024

It's going to be an action-packed weekend as contestants from across the NZYF Waikato Bay of Plenty Region battle it out for a place at the Season 56 Grand Final.

Everyone is welcome to come along and enjoy the action.

Event Details
FMG Young Farmer of the Year: 5-6 April
FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year: 6 April
AgriKidsNZ: 6 April

Check back soon for more info

Our Contest Sponsor Family

We're trying something new!

The FMG Young Farmer of the Year Contest is a long season normally and it can put a lot of pressure on our member volunteers to deliver.

We’re trialling a new format in the Northern and Waikato Bay of Plenty regions to look at ways that we can still find New Zealand’s best Young Farmer, but in a way that is potentially more streamlined.

The Format

These will be two-day events, with day one resembling the traditional District Contest and day two aligning more closely with a Regional Final.

Day 1

30 Contestants
10-15, 15-minute modules
Similar format to District Contests
The top 8 Contestants move to Day 2

Day 2

Top 8 Contestants from Day 1
2 x Head-to-Heads, 1 x Farmlet
Quiz at Evening Show
Winner moves to Grand Final

Evening Show

There'll still be an Evening Show, where our top eight will battle it out one final time for a spot at the Grand Final.

Buy Tickets

Contestants: Day 2

The below contestants have made it into the top 8! They will be challenged to two head-to-heads and a farmlet, and then onto the Buzzer Quiz. In no particular order:

> Edward Roskam
> Jimmy cleaverJai
> Jaiden Evans
> Ryan Bateup
> Emma Poole
> Harry Phipps 
> Cameron Wratt 
> Andrew Wards

View Results

Contestants: Day 1

The below Contestants will be battling it out on the first day of the Regional Final. The top eight Contestants will be moving to the next round, where our Grand Finalist will be decided.

Hauraki Young Farmers
Arie Schouten    

Morrinsville/Ngarua Young Farmers
Cameron Wratt
Calahn Vincent     
Ryan Bateup 
Declan Tully   
Harry Phipps    
Matthew Nielsen    
Cillian Aberhart    
Sofie Adelaar  
Jaiden Evans

North Waikato Young Farmers
Jimmy Cleaver    

Te Puke Young Farmers
Shanice Young    

Te Kawa West Young Farmers
Andrew Wards  
Emma Poole     
Isaac Camp     
Adrian Beattie     
Edward Roskam

Event Information

Evening Show

More info soon


More info soon
Need more info? Get In Touch

Head back to view more Regional Finals

Meet the Tasman Regional Final Convenor

Dean Gardiner
Amuri Young Farmers


Read More