Feeling stressed?

Stressed? Get Support

Get Support
FMG Young Farmer of the Year: Regional Finals Season 56

Otago Southland

9-10 February 2024

It's going to be an action-packed weekend as contestants from across the NZYF Otago Southland Region battle it out for a place at the Season 56 Grand Final.

Everyone is welcome to come along and enjoy the action!

View Results

Our Contest Sponsor Family

Event Information

Day 1

  Friday 9 February 2024
 Wingatui Racecourse, Mosgiel

Qualifying Day for FMG Young Farmer of the Year

View Timetable

Day 2

  Saturday 10 February 2024
 Wingatui Racecourse, Mosgiel

> FMG Young Farmer of the Year
> FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year & AgriKidsNZ

View Timetable

Evening Show

  Saturday 10 February 2024
 Wingatui Racecourse, Mosgiel

Buzzer quiz and the winner announced.

Buy Tickets

Need more info? Get In Touch

AgriKids & FMG Junior

Designed for high school and primary school students, these events provide the next generation with opportunities to showcase their farming skills, knowledge, and innovation.

Register for FMG Junior
Register for AgriKidsNZ

Meet our Convenor

Jess Mason

Strath Taieri Young Farmers

Jess is part of the Strath Taieri Young Farmers club and the current Vice-Chair for the NZYF Otago Southland Region.

Jess and her committee plan on taking the Otago Southland Regional Final back to the rural roots and creating a semi-formal environment for our rural communities to connect and celebrate together.

The team plan to put on a fun but competitive day and celebrate everyone’s achievements with the Young Farmers community. 

Our Contestants

Contestants from across the Otago Southland Young Farmers region will face off for a chance at representing the deep south at the Season 56 Grand Final.

Day 1 Contestants: Qualifying Round

Dunedin Young Farmers
Todd Crawford
William Benson
Zoe McElrea
Keenan Bridger

Te Anau Young Farmers
Max McCallum
Harry McCallum
Jack  Smith

Balfour Young Farmers

Catriona Hill
Connor Miller

Waitane Young Farmers
Richard Whyte
Megan Whyte
Laura Whyte
Zac Thomas
Bridget Henderson
Kate Bennett

Thornbury Young Farmers
Jeremy Tyler
Christopher Smith
Cameron Smith
James Martin
Sam Anderson
Lachlan Dudin

Nightcaps Young Farmers
Hayden Smith
Thomas Slee

Strath Taieri Young Farmers
Elizabeth Graham

Teviot Valley Young Farmers
Jeremy Hudson

West Otago Young Farmers
Ann-Kristin Loferski
Isaac Johnston


*Contestants as of 15 January 2024

Day 2 Contestants: Top 8

The below Contestants will compete on Day 2 to decide who will be going to the Season 56 Grand Final. In no particular order: 

  • Christopher Smith
  • Connor Miller
  • Harry McCallum
  • Isaac Johnston
  • James Martin
  • Sam Anderson
  • Thomas Slee
  • Zac Thomas

Meet our Convenors

Emma Wilson

Dunedin Young Farmers

Emma has been the Chair of Thornbury Young Farmers for the past two years and has just made the move to Dunedin.

She's looking forward to pulling together a tough Regional Final that tests contestants in a range of different industries.

Her and the team's goal is to set the bar high for Season 56!

Meet the Tasman Regional Final Convenor

Dean Gardiner
Amuri Young Farmers


Read More