Two new board members elected to NZ Young Farmers Board

Posted by on 3 July 2021 | Comments

Samantha Bills and James Robertson have been elected onto the New Zealand Young Farmers Board for 2021. Four nominations were put forward for voting at the 2021 Annual General Meeting. James Hurst, Braydon Schroder, Samantha Bills and James Robertson.

James Robertson has been involved in NZYF for the past nine years, holding various roles and chairmanships with clubs around the country. As the Technical Associate for the Managing Director of Co-operative Affairs with Fonterra, James works on dynamic and complex problems and has a lot of experience in stakeholder relationships and constant exposure to governance.

Samantha Bills, an experienced lawyer, has been involved in the highest level of membership representation in NZYF for the past three years at the National Committee. She has a deep love and appreciation for the organisation and is keen to put her ability to think critically and review situations to good use at the board table.

“Agriculture, horticulture, arable and rural sectors in New Zealand are very diverse. There are a lot of diverse opinions and schools of thought. If NZYF is going to continue to grow and develop it needs a membership more representative of the community and to appeal to those members. We need a broader catchment.

Primarily, NZYF should be fun, educational, and showcase the talents of its members in such a meaningful way that all persons in the sector want to be involved”, said Samantha.

Both are excited to take on this new challenge and bring their fresh perspective to the table to continue to push the organisation onwards and upwards.

Outgoing elected board member Rob Barry and independent board director Sam Robinson has their outstanding service to NZYF recognised at the New Holland annual awards last Thursday evening. They will be greatly missed on the board.