Geraldine High School duo named Aorangi FMG Junior Young Farmers of the Year

Posted by on 24 February 2019 | Comments

Tags: , ,

Geraldine High School has taken top honours at the Aorangi FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year Regional Final.

Jacob Price, 17, and Patrick Foley-Smith, 17, won the hotly-contested event at the Oamaru A&P Showgrounds yesterday.

About 80 high school students from across the Aorangi region worked in pairs to tackle a raft of challenges.

Jacob Price and Patrick Foley Smith.The modules tested the students’ practical and theoretical skills, and included a quiz hosted by Te Radar.

“I’m excited we won, but I’m pretty nervous to be heading to the grand final,” said Patrick Foley-Smith.

“I really enjoyed doing the module which involved operating a New Holland tractor fitted with a GPS unit.”

“It was pretty cool how the tractor steered itself. It was a great demonstration of how fast technology is changing in the industry,” he said.

Ben Chambers, 17, and Taylor Bird, 16, who were also from Geraldine High School, took out second place.

Both teams have qualified for the FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year Grand Final in Hawke’s Bay.

The school clinched third place as well.

“In all my years doing this event, I have never seen so many of the top teams coming from one school,” said Te Radar.

“The number of students who took part from Geraldine High School, and the skill level at which they competed, was sensational.”

Hamish Paton, Isla Connelly-Whyte and Charlie Scammell from Ashburton Intermediate School won the fiercely-contested AgriKidsNZ contest. 

That regional final saw more than 120 students, working in teams of three, take on a series of eight fun modules.

The top seven teams went head-to-head in a race-off. 

The aim of the event is to get kids excited about opportunities in the primary industries, said competition co-ordinator Jake Lonergan.

Ruby Giera, Lachlan Rooney and James Clark from Mt Somers Springburn School placed second.

Ruby also took home the award for AgriKidsNZ competitor of the day.

Itaia Chapman, Tamati Dennison and Maddy Phillips from Waitaki Valley School were third.

All three teams have qualified for the AgriKidsNZ Grand Final in Hawke’s Bay.

Both national finals will take place alongside the prestigious FMG Young Farmer of the Year Grand Final in July.  

The FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year competition was formerly known as TeenAg.

Both events are a key part of the work being done by NZ Young Farmers to attract students into the agri-food sector.  


Aorangi regional final results:

FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year

1st Jacob Price and Patrick Foley-Smith. Geraldine High School.  

2nd Ben Chambers and Taylor Bird. Geraldine High School.

3rd Jason Harford and Archie Chisholm. Geraldine High School.



1st Hamish Paton, Isla Connelly-Whyte and Charlie Scammell. Ashburton Intermediate School.

2nd Ruby Giera, Lachlan Rooney and James Clark. Mt Somers Springburn School.

3rd Itaia Chapman, Maddy Phillips and Tamati Dennison. Waitaki Valley School.

Competitor of the day: Ruby Giera