Feilding High School duo named Taranaki/Manawatū FMG Junior Young Farmers of the Year

Posted by on 7 April 2019 | Comments

Two Feilding High School students have been named the Taranaki/Manawatū FMG Junior Young Farmers of the Year.

Anna Simpson, 16, and Phoebe Smailes, 16, won the hotly-contested regional final in Whanganui yesterday.

“We’re stoked. We came third last year, so we’re really excited to have taken out first place this year,” said Anna.

Anna Simpson and Phoebe Smailes. Almost 54 high school students from across the region worked in pairs to tackle a range of challenges.

Twelve of the teams were from Feilding High School, which has the country’s largest TeenAg club.

The modules tested the students’ practical and theoretical skills, and included a quiz hosted by Te Radar.

“I enjoyed the module on macroinvertebrates, and using the New Holland tractor fitted with automated steering technology,” said Anna.

Olivia Buick, 17, and Nelson Greenwood, 16, who are also from Feilding High School, took out second place.

Both teams have qualified for the FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year Grand Final in Hawke’s Bay.

“We were gutted to have just missed out last year, so we’re pretty proud to have qualified this year,” said Phoebe.

“We were thrown a few curve balls today. We faced a few questions about forestry, which is an industry I’m not familiar with.”

A talented trio from Marton won the fiercely-contested AgriKidsNZ contest.

Sam Cranstone, 12, Falcon Proffit, 11, and Thomas Revell, 11, are all students at Huntley School.

That regional final saw 144 students, working in teams of three, take on a series of fun modules.

Liam Hutchinson, 12, Pippa Waite, 12, and Darren Pease, 12, who were a combined team from Toko School and Marco School in Taranaki, placed second.

Hugh Thomas, Abbey Grant and Grier Cunliffe, from South Makirikiri School in Marton, were third.

All three teams have qualified for the AgriKidsNZ Grand Final in Hawke’s Bay.

Both national finals will take place alongside the prestigious FMG Young Farmer of the Year Grand Final in July.  

The FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year competition was formerly known as TeenAg.

Both events are a key part of the work being done by NZ Young Farmers to attract students into the agri-food sector.  



Taranaki/Manawatū regional final

FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year

1st Anna Simpson and Phoebe Smailes. Feilding High School

2nd Olivia Buick and Nelson Greenwood. Feilding High School

3rd Renee Biggs and Holly Gregory. Feilding High School



1st Sam Cranstone, Falcon Proffit and Thomas Revell. Huntley School in Marton.

2nd Liam Hutchinson, Pippa Waite and Darren Pease. Toko School and Marco School in Taranaki.

3rd Hugh Thomas, Abbey Grant and Grier Cunliffe. South Makirikiri School in Marton.