Changes to FMG Young Farmer of the Year Governance structure announced

Posted by Erin Speedy on 27 July 2020 | Comments

New Zealand Young Farmers announces changes to FMG Young Farmer of the Year Contest Governance structure. 

Changes are being made to the governance of the FMG Young Farmer of the Year contest after an in-depth review.

The Contest Board which has in previous years has been governed by a four member Board and chaired by Rebecca Brown, is being disestablished.

The Board is being replaced with a new Contest Subcommittee, sitting under the New Zealand Young Farmers (NZYF) Board.

The subcommittee will consist of two sitting NZYF Board members, a Principal Sponsor Representative and three appointed members with staggered three year terms.  

NZYF Board contest comittee structure

NZYF Board Chair Ash-Leigh Campbell says the changes will bring contest into closer alignment with the NZYF Board, organisation and strategy.  

“At the 2019 AGM I announced a full review of the Contest governance. Since then, a full independent ‘operational and governance’ review has been completed by Sam Robinson and we have adopted a number of those recommendations,” she says.

“We want to ensure there is an adequate structure in place to support all of our amazing volunteers, enable high volunteer engagement and create clear lines of accountability and responsibility for the contest.”

“I believe this new model will not only do that, but will also ensure there are still effective leadership pathways within Contest and the NZYF organisation and closer align the FMG Young Farmer of the Year contest, culture and strategy for all NZYF members.”

A draft proposal for the new strategy was presented to the NZYF National Committee in Christchurch at the beginning of July at the organisation’s AGM.

Both Contest Chair Bexx Brown and Contest Board Representative Alastair Neville recently finished their three-year terms on the Board and were formally recognised and thanked for their contribution and dedication to the contest, also at the AGM in July.

The two NZYF Board members who will sit on the committee are yet to be decided, meanwhile Nigel Woodhead and James Goodwin (formerly Contest Board representatives) have accepted roles as two of the appointed members on the subcommittee.  

Applications to find the third appointed member will open on the 3rd of August and close on the 21st of August.

Ash-Leigh Campbell says the changes are beneficial to ensure the Contest is in the best position to keep moving forward as the flagship competition for young people in the agricultural sector.

“The Young Farmer of the Year contest has been built on 52 years of history and we always need to keep on top of changes being made in such a fast moving and innovative sector.”

 “Changes made to Contest in 2017 from a management committee to the Contest governance Board were made with the best intentions but had a number of flow on effects around staffing and volunteer levels on the ground at events. I believe the new model will go a long way in addressing these issues in particular.”

“At the end of the day we need to look after our amazing, passionate volunteers. They’re the glue that holds NZYF and FMG Young Farmer of the Year together – we wouldn’t be able to do it without them!”